Hunger Games

Josie slept for 9 hours straight last night; she nursed and then slept another 3 hours. Today, there was no crying at any of the nap times. There was even a nap that went longer than an hour.

I don’t have words to express my shock and disbelief.

My body doesn’t remember how to fall asleep, so I can’t say that I feel more rested. But holy shit. [Sorry, I know this is a family blog; I guess I do have words to express myself. Eight months, and the longest stretch she’s ever had was 5 hours, and that was last week.]

I have her all to myself tomorrow afternoon, so let’s all hope for a copycat night tonight and day of naps tomorrow.

The long awaited Moment of FoG (Funny or Gross):
One day a few weeks ago, it was super hot here. We were at home, and I was topless to avoid heat stroke (no A/C in Portland). Josie was manic form being overtired. While nursing, she suddenly stopped and switched boobs. And then switched back. And again. I was in such shock that I didn’t stop her or say anything. After a bit, I was getting kind of scared because she was wild, so I called in a shaky voice out to K, “Uh, Honey!?” She works with moms, but she said she’d never heard of this… habit?… before. Since then, if the unsuckled boob is at all accessible, Josie totally goes for it. Even when she’s sober. Is it a taste thing? Like a swirl at the frozen yogurt shop? I hope I did not just ruin her chances of getting into college by posting this to the world web.

3 Responses to “Hunger Games”


  1. 1 vicki arnold September 10, 2012 at 12:54 am

    I am soooooo excited! i just said to Uncle Len:”I think they are over the hump”! I thought there might be steak flavor in one boob, and avacado flavor in another!
    Send more of these dreamy, yummy stories!!!!!!!!!!
    Love, Aunt Vicki

  2. 2 Kim September 10, 2012 at 1:14 am

    Hey you two. I read your blog all the time and never leave comments. We are the lesbians in Napa (we talked on the phone once) that has an 8 week old now. We are on a crazy ride just as you were in the beginning, but with my wife in the hospital 2 more times with gall bladder and bile duct problems. Things are looking up now though.

    I just wanted to give you a thumbs up and I thoroughly look forward to your posts 🙂

    X.

    • 3 mamawannabe September 10, 2012 at 1:35 am

      Hi Kim. Congrats!!! I’m so glad for you both. Sorry to hear about your wife’s health problems. Hopefully all three of you will have smooth sailing from here on out.


Leave a Reply

(Disclaimer: No men were harmed in the making of this blog.)

The Family

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers


