Lucky 13?

On New Years Eve 1997, I found myself just tipsy enough to do something I’d never do otherwise. I was in a bar called Lucky 13 on Market St. in San Francisco. I was with my friend Pete, who never has to be tipsy to do anything. And I had to pee… badly. There was a very long line, as usual, for the women’s room and zero line for the men’s. Only thing was that, for some reason, the door to the men’s room stayed wide open and besides the urinals there was one stall with… you guessed it, no door. I took a stand for my bladder that night, walked right into that men’s room, and peed.

Don't worry, Mom. I was 22.

This story has nothing to do with anything except that I’m hoping, with the onset of week 13 of my pregnancy and the end of the first trimester, I may find myself in Lucky 13 once more (not to drink, don’t worry). It began with a veggie burger at my friends’ house. That was Friday, day 1 of week 13. Now, on day 4, I am happy to announce that I ate another veggie burger. Real food! In my body! I can’t say I have been without nausea or the incessant belching that has plagued me these 7 weeks. But the fact that I ate anything besides a rice cake (which I did need to get me to bed last night) and a popsicle is giving me some hope. Yes, HOPE! I said it.

Other changes I’ve noticed include: firmness above the pelvic bone, which I assume is what the books now call my small-melon uterus; a bigger belly, which I know is not from any baby or food, but which I think is from ascending guts and gas; and here’s a weirdo… one areola is now bigger and of a different shape than the other. Ah, sharing!

I still struggle with travel. I do better driving than sitting shotgun, but the motion really takes the life out of me. I’ve lost several hours to major nausea and woe after a 15-minute drive. If week 13 can keep the tenuous promise of all the books and websites, and if I can keep feeling a little better, maybe—just maybe—I’ll be the fun aunt I should be when my nephew and niece arrive a week from tomorrow. Cross fingers!(?)

3 Responses to “Lucky 13?”


  1. 1 Amy Watson June 28, 2011 at 5:12 am

    Wouldn’t that be wonderful? I’m envisioning the quick dissipation of all nausea and such, and you being able to *enjoy* your blossoming belly. ❤

  2. 2 John McAndrew June 28, 2011 at 6:46 am

    As we say here in Freiburg, viel Glkück, und gute Reise! Hope you feel much better soon and can get some sustenance for the both of you. Do you have a due date? Did I miss that somewhere along the way?


Leave a Reply

(Disclaimer: No men were harmed in the making of this blog.)

The Family

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers


