All Clear

That’s right. I got an “A” on my HsG test.

The doctor was very nice, but she could take a lesson on the gentle insertion of a speculum. That was really the most painful part. She said, “This part will be over in 15 seconds.” So, of course, I counted. I was in pain, and it was the only thing I could think of besides strangling K’s fingers, which I was already doing. I announced when I got to 15 and it wasn’t over. Just tell me 30 seconds; seriously, it’s better to overestimate and let me be pleasantly surprised at 20.

With K at my side, beautiful in her lead vest and apron, I got to watch on the screen as the contrast moved into my uterus and out my fallopian tubes. Man, are they small! I’m pretty sure a single piece of my hair is thicker. We were really excited to see that there are absolutely no blockages in my uterus or tubes. From the inside perspective, I should be getting pregnant. The doctor actually said, “Your future looks good.” How rad is that?!

Not actually my X-ray

I did ask the doc about my pain, and she said that it could be scar tissue on the outside of my uterus and tubes, but that the pain would probably go away with pregnancy. She listened to my sob story about the horrible infectious laparoscopy I had before, and said it was perfectly reasonable to try a few more months with fresh, if we can, and then jump straight to IVF if I want to skip the laparoscopy experience altogether. I liked this doctor; I like being told that my ideas are reasonable.

But how long can we stay high on these results? We messed up and thought we could simply print off a copy of our donor contact with a new date and all sign it today at Copy Central, where there’s a notary. The thing is, K noticed a sentence at the very end that says we cannot reproduce the contract (even though it’s ours and we paid for it) because it’s actually the property of our lawyer. We’re supposed to meet E2 at 4pm today to sign; there’s not enough time to get downtown to the lawyer’s office, and we’re going to start inseminations tomorrow. Yikes! After this morning’s test, though, I know it’s all gonna work out.

 

 

4 Responses to “All Clear”


  1. 1 Julie November 12, 2010 at 2:44 am

    I am elated!!!! Yay not gentle but thoughtful doctor! Yay good HSG! Yay insemination without a contract! Or perhaps, yay for signing the contract a few days after insemination!

  2. 2 melissa November 13, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    I love books, and just saw a recommendation for this one:
    L’Mazeltov – Your Personal Guide To Jewish Childbirth Education
    The site is http://lmazeltov.com/index.htm?ref=nf
    Don’t know if you’ve seen it or not.

    I know all your energy is focused on getting pregnant, but maybe it could help some if you thought about the next step. Birth!

    ~melissa

    • 3 malkageffen November 13, 2010 at 11:32 pm

      Thanks Melissa!
      I went to website and looked at their philosophy. It says, “Raising Jewish children is one of the fulfillments of marriage.” Even though K and I consider ourselves “married,” it’s probably not what they have in mind for their program. I wonder if the book is heavy on the hetero…
      Great recommendation either way. Thank you!

  3. 4 melissa November 14, 2010 at 1:25 am

    Oh, sorry I didn’t pick up on that earlier. It’s a real drag sometimes being the “other mother.” (I know that is not what you were talking about, but that’s what it brought up…) I read all these pregnancy and parenting books for dads, and let me tell you, dads have it bad right from the beginning. “You’ll never be as important as mom, so quit trying and go play golf.” I think there are more things available about the other mother now. I’d be interested to know what you find!


Leave a Reply

(Disclaimer: No men were harmed in the making of this blog.)

The Family

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers


