This Part Again

Has anyone seen the movie “Date Night” with Tina Fey and Steve Carell? There’s a part where Tina’s character goes off on how every night her kids seem surprised that they have to put pajamas on before bed. That’s how I feel about this guessing game with ovulation. You would think that by try #5 I’d know when to schedule the insemination. But with each cycle, I find myself questioning and second guessing every symptom and test result.

I had the horrible wrenching pelvis pain again last night. For the past half year or so it’s been showing up around days 9 and 10 just to throw me off. I know from previous tries that my LH surges and my temperature rises between days 11 and 13. Yet some on the internet tell me that what I experience is ovulation pain, which means I’ve already ovulated(?!?). You see why I’m farmisht? (It’s a Yiddish thang)

K reminds me that there’s always the cervical opening to consider. She dove in this morning and said it seems to be opening but isn’t quite there yet. So, we wait. And I’ll have E2 come by days 11-13 as before. But mark my words, if it doesn’t work again this time, I’m gonna start him up early next month.

And, if it doesn’t work this time, and, if my periods and pre-ovulation keep getting more painful, I need to grapple with the possibility of the big E. Endometriosis. I hate the internet.

One thing that is new (and exciting) is that it looks like we’re moving! For a long time K and I have been talking about getting out of our ‘hood and living somewhere safer. Our block has crime that rivals some of our old Oakland residences. As much as we like our house, the location makes zero sense for having a baby and raising a kid. Although I always thought I’d be pregnant, if not already have an infant, before such a move, it looks like we’re following a certain chocolatier’s advice: “Strike that… Reverse it.”

Who knows? Maybe buying a house with a giant play structure already built in the backyard will set the mood for an egg/sperm love connection.

5 Responses to “This Part Again”


  1. 1 Kristy June 26, 2010 at 1:04 am

    There’s also that probable possibility that nothing is wrong at all (aside from terrible pre-ovulation pain). Which is scary in its own way because it leaves everything up to the universe, and it means there’s nothing we can fix or have control over. Universe, we want our f’in baby! I love you sweet muffin wife.

  2. 2 Julie June 26, 2010 at 4:26 am

    Is that a picture of the real, new backyard of your real, new house? Oh, I am so excited!!! I can’t wait for Zoey to come up and visit you! Maybe she’ll bring me along too!

    Good luck this month!

  3. 3 melissa June 28, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    I’ve heard that many people make the mistake of waiting too long to inseminate. Why not try a few days earlier than you think?

  4. 5 Steph June 30, 2010 at 4:50 am

    The agonies of our bodies’ confusing signs! There is definitely the feeling that information is not power; rather, it’s crazy-making! But then again, you never know….if not this month, go for the earlier insemination and see what happens.

    And by the way, we will be setting up residence in that awesome play structure!

    Love you!


Leave a Reply

(Disclaimer: No men were harmed in the making of this blog.)

The Family

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers


