Learned Lessons

I’ve recently learned something new about blogging: it’s not a high priority. I also learned that the subject of my blog, getting pregnant, is not as high a priority as I thought.

I’ve been in New Mexico since my last blog post. My sister, who’s been very ill, called K and I to come help her and be with her kids. We didn’t hesitate to hop in the car with our pup and drive the 24 hours to get here.

From previous posts you know that I’ve said I would keep working on getting pregnant until it happened. But since I’ve been here I’ve realized that the already alive trump the yet conceived.

Another thing I’ve learned about blogging is that when I am unable to blog, my mind still thinks like the blog. So many funny and ridiculous things happened on our drive out here that I wanted to share. I wanted to blog about the many pregnancy tests I peed on in the most random motels of Idaho and Utah despite the fact that I knew I wasn’t pregnant. But I have had zero time to write.

Another thing I’ve learned from helping my sister is that we can do this thing. We’ve gotten a lot of practice in being nurturers, caretakers, etc. K and I have hung more loads of laundry and washed more dishes in these three weeks than in our entire lives. And it’s been great. Knowing that we can help keep a household with kids running, even as aunts, makes me feel so secure about becoming parents for real.

We missed an ovulation. Hopefully we’ll be able to head home before the next one. I was extremely anxious about missing “a try,” but now I’m just grateful I was able to be here with my family.

3 Responses to “Learned Lessons”


  1. 1 Calli June 5, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    What an amazing journey you and Kristy and having Malka! (both figurative and literal) I’ve been thinking of you both and am so glad to hear all is relatively well. I love the blog! Safe journies to you! Much love!

  2. 2 Angela June 5, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear your sister has been ill. I hope that she has a speedy recovery. You guys are in our thoughts. Love you,
    Ang

  3. 3 Carol River June 8, 2010 at 6:07 am

    Sending hugs! This is a beautiful post. I read your entire blog recently… I’m thinking of you and Kristy a lot.

    To jog your memory– I’m Indigo’s mama (blond curls).

    All the best to your sister and and her family and to you and Kristy as well.

    Please let Kristy know I just sent her a private message via Facebook :).

    Hugs,
    Carol


Leave a Reply

(Disclaimer: No men were harmed in the making of this blog.)

The Family

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers


