The Chosen Frozen

Well, I just got off the phone with the sperm bank. It’s done. We have two .5cc vials of washed IUI-ready sperm being shipped in a nitrogen tank (sexy!).

I have so many conflicting feelings about this move, but it’s done, and I have too much to do today to think about it beyond this post (yeah, right!).

We decided late last night on our 5th choice donor. We had originally ordered the choices by family health history. But we realized that we weren’t excited about the top three guys at all. We reread #5’s answers, which were so full of personality and so sweet. The deal sealer was the description of him by the sperm bank staff: “adorable and charming,” “intelligent, humorous and charismatic,” “very cute and easy on the eyes” and, my favorite: “huggable.” So what’s a little cancer and heart disease when you’re attractive?

Come to Mama

The whole process of order placement, shipment, and delivery is an extremely odd form of foreplay. The staff ship the tank two days before our chosen arrival date. The tank keeps the goods frozen for 7 days, so I ordered it to arrive a couple days early just in case. Then I get to wait at home all day for FedEx to arrive, so there’s that.

I should probably mention that after listening to our harrowing phone messages, E2 called back last night. K talked to him; I was too fumy and crampy. I heard her apologize at one point and almost lost my sh!t. Apparently there was a miscommunication about when we wanted him to call us back. I recall asking him to please keep us informed about his ability to contact a lawyer, given our tight schedule. Regardless, K is still working on getting him in touch with our lawyer or someone she recommends so we can still get a contract signed with him. This is after two wasted cycles and $600. Let’s add $300 for a lawyer’s fee. Let’s get a clue! I know he’s young and kinda hippy, but we’ve explained and discussed the need for him to be calling us back pronto. He claims that since he works early in the morning till late at night, he can’t call us before or after work. Why not?!?! Leave a freakin’ message! I also don’t buy that he has no breaks all day long. Who, me? Frustrated?

Regardless of what we do with E2, we’ve got the cryogenic possibilities flying our way. So, I should try to look at the positive. I’ll let you know when that happens and how that goes.

2 Responses to “The Chosen Frozen”


  1. 1 vicki April 6, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    I think this sounds like great news!
    I am very happy for you. Not that I understand
    it all! For instance the difference between the sperm which will be on its way, the donor??? and E2?

    Oh, well, step by step sounds good to me and I continue to think positive thoughts Malka and Kristy.

    Love,
    Vicki

  2. 2 Steph April 11, 2010 at 3:12 am

    I had another thought to add to our conversation from earlier about fresh vs. frozen. I know, you might have already heard enough of my opinion, but here’s one more idea to ease your mind about using frozen.

    I know that statistically, using fresh over frozen increases your chances. But maybe the statistics don’t tell the whole story. I mean, who are we talking about in the statistics? Most women using frozen sperm are not women whose only “fertility problem” is lack of sperm; most of them are using frozen sperm and IUI because they have experienced some type of a fertility problem. Women using fresh sperm would not fall into this same category. So, maybe the reason, statistically, fresh is so much better than frozen, is just simply that the population using frozen already has a lower chance of getting pregnant. Maybe it’s not the sperm at all.

    And if we want to talk statistics, you for sure have a better chance of getting pregnant if you know you get to try–so go for the frozen this month, invent your own cryogenic foreplay, and believe that it can and will happen for you!

    Love you so much!


Leave a Reply

(Disclaimer: No men were harmed in the making of this blog.)

The Family

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers


