Balls in the Air

I’m writing from a living room transformed into dining hall. Late into the night, K and I took apart, moved, reassembled, and repositioned tables until we managed to assure 15 viable seats for tonight’s Passover seder. Earlier in the day, I made gluten-free matzah for the first time. Today I tackle GF matzah balls!

Speaking of which, today is also the day E2 gets his semen retested. This time he knew exactly when to “do his thing” to get the best results. I cannot express how much I hope the results are best. We still haven’t narrowed down a frozen donor, I’m not looking forward to charging up $1000 for a couple of vials, and I so prefer using the fresh and local goods whose DNA I can actually see (E2 is pretty darn cute). My pre-Passover wish (which I just made up ’cause I’m pretty sure Jews don’t get to make wishes on a holiday like it’s a birthday cake) is for millions and millions of normal looking, fast moving swimmers.

On a side note… I got my hair cut yesterday. I was convinced that growing it out so that I could put it back in a ponytail for birth and postpartum was an excellent idea. I was planning to get a cut that would make the growing-out process less unbearable. I decided to go to a real stylist (I usually go to the cheap, punk barbershop where you get what you pay for). I plead my case to her, but the stylist firmly disagreed, citing her own pregnancy experience. “At some point, you’re going to feel ugly, fat, and…” She picked up a chuck of my natural gray hair and added, “…old.” She convinced me to let her make it cute (i.e. short). The offer I couldn’t refuse? She said that I could come in every 4-6 weeks for a trim for only $10 until the baby (she knows we’re trying but not preggers yet) is 1 year old.

The coolest thing about the visit was when, having finished, she said, “You see, now that you’ve shown how flexible you are, you’re going to get pregnant!” So, even if I can’t count on my wishes, maybe I can count on the soothsaying of a hairstylist.

4 Responses to “Balls in the Air”


  1. 1 angela March 29, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    I want a photo of the cute hair cut! Do you ever read Elana’s Pantry at http://elanaspantry.blogspot.com? She’s Jewish and gluten-free! Good luck with the swimmers–you are in our thoughts! Love,
    Ang

  2. 2 melissa March 29, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    Go go gadget baby goo!

    And always, when possible, shop local. Decrease your carbon footprint.

  3. 3 lisa April 4, 2010 at 7:27 am

    i agree. photo malka 🙂


Leave a Reply

(Disclaimer: No men were harmed in the making of this blog.)

The Family

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers


