It’s Been Broughten

It’s funny; the laboratories of the world (or Portland) think they can stop me now.

With all of our efforts thwarted by ridiculousness, life is starting to feel like a goofball comedy. First, E2 doesn’t get the instructions before his sperm analysis. The results come back terrible and possibly bunk. Our doctor suggested we call that lab to get a refund. We did, and they said it was the doctor’s responsibility to tell E2 the pretest info. What’s ridiculous is that the lab faxed our doc the instructions after E2 came and went (so to speak).

So we decided to get him retested (because we’re desperate for his count and motility to be magically and drastically better than what it probably is). We asked him to call and make an appointment with the fancy lab up on the hill (where our fancy research hospital is). They had him on hold forever and then told him he needed a doctor’s orders. When we learned about this, I called the lab to find out exactly how they want the doctor’s order delivered (I’m finally realizing that you have to ask all imaginable questions up front to avoid extra steps). After two calls of being on hold forever, I was able to have them fax the form to my doc, who immediately faxed it back to them. I called E2 and said, “Now, young lad. Now you can call and make that appointment!” Well, he just called to say that the lab wasn’t satisfied with the info our doc faxed back and so “No appointment for you!” (a la Soup Nazi).

I’m seriously getting fed up. Who’s pulling these strings?

I know, I know. Those of you with kids are thinking, “Dealing with health situations with a kid is only going to be more frustrating, so you better just get used to it.”

But I’m not bitching about false starts here. I’m bitching about false whatever comes before there’s even a glimmer of a start!

My resolution: I’m just going to look at every stupid little challenge as a herculean challenge from mama universe and start carrying around a shield and sword and wear a pointy metal bra and laugh! I’ll laugh in the face of every unnecessary time-consuming and frustrating ounce of bulldoo flung our way, all the while singing operatically, “Bring it!”

4 Responses to “It’s Been Broughten”


  1. 1 Kristy March 22, 2010 at 3:50 am

    I have to say, it’s pretty awesome that our doctor re-faxed the lab order before I even had a chance to email her about it because she read about it on your blog!

  2. 2 Josh March 22, 2010 at 3:57 am

    Arrgh! Sounds frustrating! I am so excited for you and your journey! I will have to catch up this is the first entry I have read. How cool!!

    • 3 malkageffen March 22, 2010 at 5:06 pm

      Hurray! Josh, you win the first male comment award! As a dad, I hope you will comment from your unique experience regularly.
      Miss ya!

  3. 4 Amy Watson March 23, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    love the image! i’m sorry for all the hoop jumping you have to do and bs you have to deal with, but you are unstoppable, mama. one way or another this will all unfold as it should.


Leave a Reply

(Disclaimer: No men were harmed in the making of this blog.)

The Family

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers


