Reading the Signs

I’m nauseated. And I hate that this means nothing.

At random points in the past few days, I’ve felt like I needed to vomit (sorry for the graphic discussion, but me thinks it will only get graph-ickier). I’ve also been voraciously hungry. At the same time, my boobs are not big and heavy, I think I have cramps, and there’s a stomach bug going around.

We inseminated only 9 days ago, so the egg, if fertilized, probably hasn’t even implanted yet. I recognize that I am making myself crazy with this. But at least there’s only 6 days to go before I get my period (or don’t!).

And what does it mean to see pregnant women everywhere? (That’s right, I’ll be the Haley Joel Osment in M. Night Shyamalan’s new thriller The Sick Sense.) I just got back from our local health food market and Trader Joe’s, so you know my eyes are burning.

A ran into a friend yesterday who told me she recently miscarried. She also commented on the phenomenon of the ubiquitous bellies. Is it a good sign or a bad sign? More importantly, are my jealous stares harming them in any way? If so, I need to start shopping blindfolded.

4 Responses to “Reading the Signs”


  1. 1 Jackie February 11, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    I got a very faint positive The first time I tested with Abe 10 days after conception. Just saying! I wasn’t going to test that soon but I just felt weird. I used the more sensitive (& expensive) First Response test. I didn’t get (too) excited or tell anyone since I knew I could be setting myself up for a roller coaster if I just got my period in a few days since the miscarriage rate for very early PG like that is high.

  2. 2 malkageffen February 12, 2010 at 1:21 am

    I’m not even close to the time when I can realistically test. I am having such a hard time sleeping well through the night because I know I have to take my temp when I wake up, and that temp could start ticking downward any time!

  3. 3 Becky February 18, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    Oh my– does this bring back memories– working all day treating pregnant women who were complaining to me about being pregnant and then going home at night to cry.. I know how heartbreaking this whole thing can be and you ladies have been in my thoughts so much. I love that you are blogging about it. Stay positive!! oh- and all those alternative therapies can be written off if you itemize your taxes-

    • 4 malkageffen February 19, 2010 at 1:36 am

      Thanks Becky! I hope that when I am pregnant (how’s that for positive thinking?) I won’t be too complainy about it. Though, knowing me…
      I hope you’re doing well. Thanks for reading and cheering!


Leave a Reply

(Disclaimer: No men were harmed in the making of this blog.)

The Family

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers


